I Am a Church Member Who Dreams Dreams…

Posted: August 13, 2014 in Ministry

As I was cleaning out my email inbox the other day, I found this tucked within.  

If this resonates in your heart and mind also, send me a quick note in the comment section below…

 

I Am a Church Member Who Dreams Dreams: A Statement of Church Revitalization

And it will be in the last days, says God, that I will pour out My Spirit on all humanity; then your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, and your old men will dream dreams. Acts 2:17, HCSB

I am a church member who dreams dreams.

I know that my church could use a new vision and new fire. I know that we have seen better days in our history. Sometimes it seems that we are going through the motions. I dream of a day when the vision is once again clear and the fire is intense.

I am a church member who dreams dreams.

Sometimes we members hang on to those things we like instead of asking God what He wants. I dream of a day when it will not be about my programs, preferences, and desires. I dream of a day when I am giving all and asking for nothing.

I am a church member who dreams dreams.

I know that no dream can become a dream unless we are people of prayer. Too often I give lip service to prayer. Too often I fail to pray for my pastor and my church. Too often I don’t really act like prayer matters. I dream of a day when prayer is powerful in our church.

I am a church member who dreams dreams.

I dream that God will break our hearts for those in our community.  That we will not neglect the hurting, the homeless, the strugglers, and the stragglers. I dream of a day when we are so powerfully present in our community that people know us by name.

I am a church member who dreams dreams.

Jesus came to seek and save those who are lost. I dream of a day when we do the same in our church. I dream of a day when our hearts are so broken for those who do not know Jesus Christ, that we cannot help but speak about Him. Indeed, I dream that we will share the gospel at home and to the ends of the earth.

I am a church member who dreams dreams.

Churches are declining and dying all around us. Perhaps my church is one of those, or close to becoming one of those. I dream of a day when we will have no doubt in this church that we are vibrant and alive. Indeed I dream of a day when we come to this place excited and anticipating what God will do next.

I am a church member who dreams dreams.

But dreams cannot remain mere dreams. They must soon move to action. So I will continue to dream dreams. But I will also seek to be God’s instrument for those dreams. I will dream a dream that the old hymn is about me: “God send a revival, and let it begin in me.”

Let me know what you think about this in the comment section…

Drew

Leave a Reply

