Time Management…by value!

Posted: March 20, 2011 in Ministry

I am not sure where I read this, but I saved it.  It got me thinking…do I just do Time Management, OR, do I do Time Management that is part of my values.  If you are not sure what I mean by this…keep reading…

 

Sometimes I get a bit overwhelmed by constant ‘principles’ and ‘keys’ to successful living!

Sometimes one size (or principle) does NOT fit all (which either means I am the wrong or principle MIGHT be wrong – either are possible!)…

Often ‘principles’ they just increase my guilt!

The reality of being in leadership does mean that we need help and when we are starting in a new position we are expecially vunerable. Sometimes, principles and keys are really important. Other times we just need to identify what values we hold most supreme.

There have been a number of times when I have been victim to to one of the following ‘ailments’ while settling into a new position…

  • I’m in a meeting, it’s running late and I promised my daughter I’d  watch her play basketball. I missed the last two games. If I am not careful, I won’t make this one either.
  • It’s been a while since I dated my wife but I really NEED to get this project finished!
  • I duck out of putting my four year old to bed because I am am working on a sermon.
  • I am  spending lots of time visiting people while my wife sits at home watching “Wife Swap” on TV
  • It’s been a while since I have been able to find the time to successfully ‘date’ my daughter

Maybe you resonate with some of these scenarios – or you have your own unique battles?

Perhaps one of these scenarios doesn’t fit you specifically but you KNOW that you are not managing your time effectively. Perhaps, you are sacrificing your marriage, kids and perhaps work on an altar that fits squarely within a ‘closed hand.

SO you get the latest book to help you strategically manage your time…….. Nah… doesn’t help (or perhaps it does help for a short time –  until you don’t have time to finish it… irony). You’ll be back to your old ways before you can say “Useless Time Management Principles for the Modern Leader”

Therefore…

I AM NOT GOING TO GIVE YOU A SERIES OF ‘KEYS’ OR ‘PRINCIPLES’ TO HELP YOU SOLVE YOUR CRISIS.

Well, maybe ONE…!

I have been married for 17 years and have four kids. Here is what I realize about myself. My time management issues, my priority issues are actually VALUE issues in disguise – not practical/principle based issues.

My time management is dictated by my values. Pure and Simple.

Now, look at those scenarios listed at the beginning again. What values are being revealed? For example, my first scenario tells me that the value being ‘chased’ in my life is that of work, perhaps making money, perhaps it’s promotion, perhaps it kudos, perhaps its fear (of being fired). See what I mean? Sounds tough but it’s sometimes true – right?

If the highest value was that of relationship, family and leaving a legacy – I would be at that game cheering my kids on! This will have the added advantage of making me a better leader too!

Thankfully, a long time ago, I had good people who pointed out I was a ‘village idiot’ for not identifying my core values and making them a priority FIRST. Change came slowly and thanks to my wonderful wife (Sarah) it came consistently. That doesn’t mean that my priorities don’t get messed up sometimes but I do tend to correct them somewhat quicker than I used.

I value my marriage, kids and God too much to strive for anything else.

What do YOU do to keep your priorities in the right order?

Let me know in the “reply” section below…

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Glen says:

    Thanks for the quote…

Leave a Reply

