Some verses… regarding YOUR marriage!

Posted: March 16, 2011 in Ministry

Life it tough!  Marriage seems to be tougher (at least sometimes).  Your marriage does not have to be mediocre, stale or boring!  Without pointing at your spouse as the issue, take a moment with a cup of coffee or a coke, sit down and read through these passages of Scripture.  Allow the Word of God to speak to you…and allow the Word of God to be your measuring stick to see where you are in your marriage in relation to what God says.

So, get that cup of coffee or a coke right now…and before you read below…take a moment and say to the Lord “speak to me Lord!”

#1 – Philippians 1:27 – The first word is the one that gets me the most – “whatever!”  AND…please keep in mind that the Apostle Paul was in prison when he penned that verse.  If Paul can instruct us to keep a good attitude when he was in prison they surely we must strive to do the same…even if we are in a difficult marriage.

#2 – Philippians 2:14 – OUCH…notice the word “everything” in this verse!  If we would simply submit to this instruction how much better would our marriages be?

#3 – Philippians 3:12-14 – Paul refused to allow the fact that he had fallen short of who he felt God was calling him to be…he was willing to continue the fight!  (Everyone is tempted to give up on their marriage at some point…but if we are followers of Jesus we should be willing to fight FOR it and not just in it!)

#4 – Philippians 3:16 – AHHH!  Most of the time we already know what we need to do and how we need to do it….we know it but struggle to apply it!

#5 – Philippians 4:5-7 – We should be gentle to all (including our spouse) and not be anxious…but rather present our requests to God, knowing that He wants for us to have a great marriage even more than we would actually like to have one.

#6 – Philippians 4:8 – How we think about our marriage (or future marriage) will definitely impact it…this verse is essential in reminding us to think the right thoughts.  (Also see II Corinthians 10:5)  We must fight the temptation to constantly think negative thoughts about our spouse and our marriage.

#7 – Philippians 4:13 – “Everything” means “Everything!”  Trust me…your messed up marriage situation CAN BE HEALED by Jesus.  He specializes in bringing dead things back to life!  In Christ our marriage CAN (and SHOULD) work out in order that Ephesians 3:20 should be true about them.

What got you thinking here?  Any verse or verses stand out to you?  I would love to hear from you, so leave me a comment in the “reply” section below…

Comments
  1. yeliska says:

    First, I love the way this post took me through the book of Phillipians..

    Second, I’m praying for his guidance , love and mercy.

    Third, thank you…

  2. Carol Gayman says:

    Philippians 4:8 meant the most to me. When I start letting my feelings take over my marriage, it goes down the tubes. I made a conscious decision to love and cherish Phil until death does us part. Whenever I start thinking negative thoughts, I purposely do small things that I know will make Phil feel good and loved and it always amazes me that my thoughts automatically change direction and I fall deeply in love with him again. When I forget about me and my feelings and think more of God and Phil, it amazes me the difference it makes. Thank you for this post, it really did get me thinking!

Leave a Reply

