Texting God…

Posted: February 16, 2011 in Ministry

Months ago, Cambria (my daughter) and I were sitting at the eye doctors and she was telling me that she was asked to speak at a Christian event/rally at her High School.  She shared with me that she did not want her time of sharing to be “normal” but something that would really speak to her peers and get them thinking about prayer and God-led revival in their generation…specifically their school.

In our time of talking, I was on my iPhone looking up some ideas about prayer…and I came across this blog post by Stephanie Halorsen.’

All I can say is wow…she really got it right…Check it out…(emphasis is mine)

Texting God – by Guest Blogger Stephanie Halvorsen

I am a 20-year-old Union College student. Life as a college student in 2009 is one in which communication is the centerpiece of just about everything we do. My friends and I have mastered the concept of being “in touch”. We as a generation are constantly being criticized for how we communicate. We are accused of no longer knowing how to have, or appreciate, face-to-face conversations. However, I would say that we communicate with each other more than any other generation in the history of this world! We use Facebook, Myspace, IM, video chat, email, texting – the list goes on and on.

We have a million and a half ways of communicating with each other; it has changed the way we begin, as well as maintain friendships and relationships. We can know instantly why someone isn’t in class, if someone is running late to work, who just broke up, whose car just broke down….well, you get the picture.

My generation knows how to pass along information…instantly. We no longer have to meet face to face to work on a group presentation or catch up with an old friend. While face to face time is still incredibly important, when life doesn’t allow time for that, we are still very much “in touch” with each other.

What if we as the body of Christ could be “in touch” with our Savior in the same way? What if we as Christians lived communicating with God? What if we sent Jesus one-liners all day, everyday? What if we prayed without ceasing the way my generation passes along information and stays in touch?

John 15:5-8 states “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If anyone does not remain in me, he is like a branch that is thrown away and withers…if you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you.”

We have a beautiful Savior who wants us to be “in touch”. He wants us to pray without ceasing, to tell Him about the little things that happen as well as the big things. He wants us to ask Him for help when we need it, to praise Him for the beautiful life He has given us, and He wants to cry with us when we hurt. We have a Savior who wants to bless our lives with an intimate experience with Him. An experience that is stable and constant in a world that is constantly unstable.

So throughout your days, don’t forget to text God. He can’t wait to hear from you!

Wow!  Stephanie has really got this right!

We, as the body of Christ need to be “praying without ceasing”…and this can take on many forms…like praying to God in the same way that many text one-another.  Some students today can do 5,000-10,000 (or more) texts in a month.  Can you imagine if they would just make 10% of them a prayer to God about something or somebody?  What would that look like?  How quickly would revival come upon those students…and/or this generation!

I am committed to be one that “prays without ceasing”.  Every time that I pick up my phone to text over the next week or two (and possibly more), I am committing to pause for a moment and pray for that person or someone close to that person.  The prayer may be general at first, but I would like to drill down and pray for specifics in their life…most importantly praying about their relationship with the Lord and their relationship with others.

Would you join me in this?  If you are willing to try this, let me know in the comment/reply section below…so we can hold each other accountable (in a good way) to “text God” and pray for others.  And possibly, just possibly some time down the road we will have a God-honoring story to share with others about how He answered our prayers, how our prayer life changed, how He changed us, and how God used this to bring revival into our life and those around us!

Leave a Reply

